Slowly increasing the mileage …

Last week, I ran 64 miles.  I have been able to increase my mileage about 10 percent each of the last five weeks.  Now, I just need to keep it in the 60s.   No easy feat for this 47 year old, but if I want to compete at a higher level I need to put in more mileage.

I have been increasing the speed of some of my longer workouts … leaving my heart rate monitor in Maine has helped in that regard; I have not been as wedded to my HR as usual.  So, I managed to throw in a three mile spurt at 7:15 pace during a ten mile run and have run most of my moderate runs right about 8 minute pace.  I am still keeping the slower runs at about 8:20-8:30 pace.

I have found that my longer runs are still a struggle.  I just can’t seem to get my legs loosen up.  I have taken to doing some leg lifts at the end of runs in hopes of fixing that problem.  It seems to be helping a bit.  As usual, more stretching and attention to the things that are not running are what seems to be needed.

I am on pace for another mid 60s week even with a race on Thursday.  My goal is to break 20:00 for the 5k.  I have done this race in under 20 before, but that was about four years ago.  Last year I ran 20:53 or something like that.  It is not an easy course … a couple of killer hills.

At least I don’t have to travel and suffer the choice of being felt up by TSA people or being iradiated.  I am thankful for that!

0 Responses to “Slowly increasing the mileage …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




November 2010
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

What I am reading:

Again to Carthage, Robert L. Parker

Music I am listening to:

LCD Soundsystem, This Happens Gorillaz, Plastic Beach