Back at it …

Friday was 5.3 in 44:30 and today was the same course in 43:50. My legs are still a bit stiff and sore. My hamstrings are also still very tight. I ran very easy – sub 140 HR – for both of these runs and the pace was in the 8:15-8:20 range.

I contacted my old high school coach (who has been head coach at UNH for the past 23 years) and asked for some coaching help to get me to the 2:50 marathon level. He agreed. I figure I need some outside advice to help me get to where I want to go. I don’t expect we will develop a plan for the next couple of weeks – which is just as well, I want to just do some relaxed training. Part of my problem, though, is that most of my training has been relaxed. I think it is time to ramp things up a bit. But, I will see what his input is. I sent him my training for the past six months for evaluation. We shall see.

Of to coach little league baseball on a beautiful Saturday afternoon.

2 Responses to “Back at it …”


  1. 1 Andrew April 27, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    Good luck with the new coach and the goal of 2:50. That is a similar goal of mine.

    I just read your Boston report. When I did it the one time, I didn’t make it past 23 miles. The crowds of runners is what really got me. I promised myself never to run that race again until I was either A) much faster or B) running solely for fun.

  2. 2 Chris April 27, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    Thanks for the kind words. Running a big race like Boston certainly is a different experience. You definitely feel like an ant in the grand scheme of things; it’s a bit off putting.

    Glad to see you stopped by to visit. Perhaps someday we will bump into each other at some Maine race. We spend August near Blue Hill and I plan to run the Northeast Harbor 5 miler again.


Leave a Reply

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

What I am reading:

Again to Carthage, Robert L. Parker

Music I am listening to:

LCD Soundsystem, This Happens Gorillaz, Plastic Beach

