Last medium long run …

before Boston.

10.3/1:23:28/8:04 pace/144 HR Avg

This run felt very smooth and easy.  I feel, with seven days until Boston, pretty good physically and mentally.  The rest of this week is short easy mileage with a six mile run on Wednesday that will include 2 miles at MP.

I will keep up the stretching to make sure the hamstrings continue to improve, but as of right now things seem to be shaping up well.

I have not decided how much I will watch of the woman’s trials this weekend.   I want to keep off my feet before the race, so I may limit how long I watch the race.  It is a pretty exciting running weekend in Boston though and having the woman’s trials is a big deal.  There was a nice article on Joan Benoit Samuelson in the NYTimes this weekend.  She is quite the role model.  I hope to be able to do what she is doing at 50 – sub 2:50.  I have convinced myself that once Boston is over I will try to slowly increase my mileage to 70 to 80 miles per week in an effort to break 3 hours.  I think if I do more stretching and increase the mileage gradually, my body can handle it.  I am also sure, if I drop 10 more pounds that will help.

Anyway, the weather for the week looks beautiful.  With any luck next Monday will dawn in the low 50s with no wind.  Here’s to hoping.

0 Responses to “Last medium long run …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

What I am reading:

Again to Carthage, Robert L. Parker

Music I am listening to:

LCD Soundsystem, This Happens Gorillaz, Plastic Beach

