Last medium long run …

Sunday was my last medium long run until Boston – a 13 miler in 1:46:49.

The run started off well enough.  I felt strong and easy running just under 8:00 pace for the first 3 miles and then about 8:05 pace up to mile 7.  It was a raw day and when I crossed over the Arsenal Street Bridge to head back toward Boston, the wind picked up and things felt much colder.  My pace slipped to 8:25 per mile at 143 HR and I also just started to feel more weary.  Things went fine, but I didn’t feel as strong as I expected at the end of this run; perhaps my body is still recovering from the 800s on Friday.  The last five miles was a section of a run where you think “I hope this is not how I feel during Boston.”

The rest of the day, my legs were sore and I just felt kinda worn down.  We stayed out late on Saturday night at a friend’s house and I did not get to bed until about 12:30 – way past my normal bedtime.  If you couple that with the 6 x 800s I did on Friday, it makes some sense that I might not feel particularly strong.  I keep recognizing here in this blog that I don’t recover very quickly from hard workouts, but I still think, when I am about to start a run, that “Oh, this is two days after my hardworkout, I should feel strong and be recovered from that.”  When, in reality it seems to take 3-4 days before I recover from a harder workout.

Overall, I ran 60 miles this week, in part because I ran my 20 miler on Tuesday.  Next week should be a mid 40s week.  With any luck my body will feel a lot better next Sunday.  One more quick track workout midweek and just easy miles the rest of the time.  I plan on a 10-11 miler on Sunday to end the week and then a really easy week before the marathon.

0 Responses to “Last medium long run …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

What I am reading:

Again to Carthage, Robert L. Parker

Music I am listening to:

LCD Soundsystem, This Happens Gorillaz, Plastic Beach

