It has been quite a while …

since my last post. But, that doesn’t mean the running isn’t progressing. It is, I’ve just been busy leaving my old job and starting my own solo practice law firm. Lots of stuff to do on the work front.

On the running front, things have gone well. I’ve run in the low 60s for the past three weeks and have done long runs of 18, 20 and 22. Yesterdays 22 miler was okay but I felt pretty tired the last 6 miles – most likely from lack of sleep the last two nights. I have been up at 2 am and unable to get back to sleep. And, on top of that, the winter weather has made running more treacherous. Instead of trying to plow through the weather like last year when I got hurt, I ran on the treadmill four times this week -boring, but the safer course. It is really pretty tough running in the city after a snow storm because the roads are too dangerous to run on and the sidewalks are poorly cleared. Here is how the last three weeks have shaped up:

  • Week 49: 62.2 miles in 7 runs

No days off, and one mid week run of 10 and a Saturday run of 18.HR was kept low, around 136 and pace was 8:30s.

  • Week 50: 64 miles in 6 runs

Much the same as the week before but a midweek 15 miler and a 10 miler on the day before my 20 mile run on the Boston course. This felt like a lot of mileage but the 20 miler ended up feeling very easy. A big storm hit on the Sunday and I took the day off.

  • Week 51: 64.3 miles in 7 runs

Things are feeling pretty consistent, but the running at the end of the week was outdoors and very sloppy. The treadmill running at the beginning of the week was uneventful but I did do a 10 miler with the first 5 at 8:20 pace and the last 5 went from 7:30 to 7:00 pace. That felt very smooth and easy and was a good mental lift. The long run on Sunday was smooth until 16 and things got tougher. If I feel like that at Boston it will not be a good race.

Things will get less hectic after the holidays and I hope to post more. I have signed up for a 16 mile race in Derry, NH on January 27. That should be a pretty good indication of my conditioning.Happy Holidays to all.

1 Response to “It has been quite a while …”


  1. 1 Susan Cartier Liebel December 24, 2007 at 11:50 am

    You should hook up with Michael Keenan, a fellow blogger on running, a fellow solo practitioner and father…you may have a lot in common.

    http://ctelderlawblog.typepad.com/glastonbury_running/

    Keep me posted on your progress as a solo. Happy New Year to you.


Leave a Reply

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

What I am reading:

Again to Carthage, Robert L. Parker

Music I am listening to:

LCD Soundsystem, This Happens Gorillaz, Plastic Beach

