Testing out the calf with some speed …

So, as promised, I tested out my calf by running 4 x 800 meters.  I was going to do 5 but felt a bit spent by the end of the fourth one.

 I ran at the Ellsworth High School track at 9:15 AM.  Warmup was an easy 2 miles at 8:05 pace and sub 140 HR.  Then the halfs were done at 3:03, 2:58, 2:55, 2:56 with a 400 m jog in between.  Nothing spectacular but the calf held up well.

I was planning on running them all at 3:00, so I was pretty much there.  I could have done another one, but it would have taken a lot out of me and I didn’t want to overdo things with my calf.  I don’t know what to think about this.  There is no way I could run this pace for a full five miles – maybe a 5 k but it would have been very tough.  Looks like I should just plan on trying to run the same time I ran last year for the Northeast Harbor 5 mile road race  – 32:48.  If I do that, I will be happy.  Naturally, faster would be better, but after today’s workout I am doubtful I could do much faster.   Time and patience, my son, time and patience.

Tomorrow is a long run (from 14-18 depending on how I feel) around Eagle Lake (or is it Echo Lake?) with the kids on bikes riding with me.  Early morning departure with a late night of work tonight.

8/16  5.0 miles/37:42/4 x 800 m (3:03, 2:58, 2:55, 2:56)

0 Responses to “Testing out the calf with some speed …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

What I am reading:

Again to Carthage, Robert L. Parker

Music I am listening to:

LCD Soundsystem, This Happens Gorillaz, Plastic Beach

