A 15 miler …

Back to back days of 10 and then 15 and my calf seems to have held up very well. It is a little sore, but that is to be expected after a 15 miler in humid conditions. Sunday’s run started off much cooler then it ended and my pace slowed at a slightly elevated HR at the end of the run.

The average pace was 8:32. This is a long way from where I was in early December 2006 when I ran this same run nearly seven minutes faster and at a lower HR. I am sure the temperature difference had some impact, but certainly not a seven minute impact. I have a ways to go, but at least I am heading in the right direction. Overall the 14.85 miles took me 2:06:54. The last three were much slower and I felt them more than I thought I would. It is interesting how I would feel better had I run faster at the end; but, trying to keep the HR low is hard and seems to take more out of you then running at a faster clip at the end.

Anyway, after the run I had that nice tired, muscle soreness you get from a long run. It had been a while since I had that feeling. It was nice to get it back.

The plan is a day off today, and then 7 miles tomorrow, 10 on Wednesday, 7 on Thursday, 5 on Friday, 10 on Saturday and 17 on Sunday. That would be a 56 mile week. We may be heading out this weekend so my running plans may not go as I hope. It would be nice, though, to get a 17 miler in on Sunday. It is the long runs that I feel really get me into shape. I also need to refocus on my diet. Before the injury I weighed in at 170-172. Right now I am 177, so I need to bring that back down. Ideally, I would like to get down into the 165 range, but I am not sure I can do that in three months – this older body doesn’t seem to metabolise as quickly as I’d like.

7/15 14.85/2:06:54/8:32/145 Avg HR
Week total: 50 miles in six runs

0 Responses to “A 15 miler …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

What I am reading:

Again to Carthage, Robert L. Parker

Music I am listening to:

LCD Soundsystem, This Happens Gorillaz, Plastic Beach

