A little twinge, but I hope it is nothing…

On my seven mile run this morning, I increased the HR to 155 for the last mile, just to see how things went. After about 3/4 of a mile, I felt a slight tightness in my left calf (maybe even a little bit of a twinge) – this feeling was in the calf/gastroc I tore in February – so, I backed off and continued in at an easy 140 HR pace. Nothing big but it does have me worried because in the back of my mind I fear a recurrence.

The slight pick up I did this morning is the first time I felt anything worrisome. I have done some other pickups on different occasions since starting back again and nothing happened. I worry that this thing may never be 100% healed and this may happen again and again. Then again, maybe I am overreacting to this feeling. But, as I sit here, I feel a soreness that I have not had since I came back in June.

I don’t know what to do about it except continued stretching and strengthening in hopes that the calf will eventually be 100%. Perhaps I am rushing this a bit and should just assume that I should only do slow, low HR mileage until mid August and not plan for any races until the end of August or beginning of September. I should also just get it in my mind that I will run a marathon this fall but not at a competitive clip; instead just work on finishing it at a controlled pace. I don’t know really how to gear up for a fall marathon without upping the mileage. I guess I need to change my mindset and just keep going slow. It is hard to do – I really want to start running faster. Agggg.

7/10/07: 7.3 miles/1:00:05/8:13 pace/143 HR Avg

Last week: 46.3 miles

0 Responses to “A little twinge, but I hope it is nothing…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

What I am reading:

Again to Carthage, Robert L. Parker

Music I am listening to:

LCD Soundsystem, This Happens Gorillaz, Plastic Beach

