Back from the holiday ….

They don’t say vacation in England, they say “holiday.” So, in the spirit of my cross-atlantic friends, I have returned from holiday.

While on holiday, I did some running. We started our vacation in the Cotswalds. This is a rural area, the roads are narrow and the citizens of the UK drive “wicked” fast all the time. For example, when I was on the highway and tooling along at 65-70 I was passed by other cars doing 80. Small and narrow roads didn’t seem to slow them down either. So, with this in mind, I was a bit cautious when out running. While in the Cotswalds, I found a run with a wider road and discovered that not many people were out at 5:30 AM; I managed to run three time in the Cotswalds, with each run about 4 miles long and done at 8:25 pace.

After the Cotswalds, we traveled to Cornwall. Hard to believe but the hedges were higher there and the roads even narrower. There was a walking trail near our hotel that went along the shore so I ran on that the first day. I found, however, that the trails were very up and down and most of them were made of loose sand; I found the footing difficult and stressful on the calf so, for once, I exercised some judgment and did not run the next two days in Cornwall – in part because I felt my calf after that first run.

We left Cornwall and traveled to London.  Our hotel, as luck would have it, was only a block from Hyde Park. I did not realize that Hyde Park is much like Central Park – only more of a groomed park. It was very easy to run 5-6 miles there and many people enjoyed the park for running. I managed to run 4.5 miles the first two days and then 5.5 miles our last day there. All runs were done at 8:00 to 8:30 pace. The calf felt pretty good.

We returned to Boston on Saturday night and I got up for a slightly longer run on Sunday. It was nice to be home and running on familiar ground. I ran 6.5 miles on Sunday; after this run, it really sunk in that I have lost a lot of fitness. While I can run the first three miles or so at 8:00-8:10 pace and keep the HR at 140, the next two or three miles of the run the HR noticibly shoots up to 145-150 while maintaining that pace. Three months ago I could run 7:50 at 140 HR for 10 miles without much creep. I have some work to do to get back there. After this slightly longer run I awoke this morning with the calf feeling a bit sore and I was somewhat worried. I tried to run slower today and still felt some tightness/soreness in the calf at the start of the run. After two miles, however, these feelings subsided and I finished up a short 30 minute run feeling pretty good about the calf.

I still think I have a couple more weeks of easy running (including strengthening and stretching) before I can move up to the 45-50 mile per week range. I can’t wait to go for a 10 mile run and start making some progress in returning to pre-injury form. I will try to act my age and be smart about this return from my injury. So far, so good.

0 Responses to “Back from the holiday ….”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

What I am reading:

Again to Carthage, Robert L. Parker

Music I am listening to:

LCD Soundsystem, This Happens Gorillaz, Plastic Beach

