Running again …

Well, I have nearly completed my rehab program.  I have two more visits – Friday and Tuesday – before I get released to resume my training.  I have been running on a treadmill for the most part, but I have managed two outside runs.  Last Sunday I ran for 22 minutes outside on a flat surface in Milwaukee (visiting my sister in law) and ran for 30 minutes outside today.  Sandwiched between those two was a rehab session where I ran for 25 minutes on a treadmill at 10:00 pace.

I have lost some fitness, but I hope to get that back quickly.  Today’s “run” was at 8:40 pace at 138-140 HR.  I ran with the Garmin for the first time since February.   It has been a long time – too long.  Now, I just need to keep the rehab exercises up and start getting back to marathon training.

I plan on starting off easy the first week (we will be traveling to England for 10 days so my return to running will start there).  I plan on 35-45 miles the first week and then hope to get up to 7-10 a day at an easy HR of 140 for another two weeks.  Then I will see where I am at and try to get a July road race in.  My tentative plan is to run the Milwaukee Lakefront marathon in October.  It looks like a fast and pretty course.

So, things progress.  I will try to get back to blogging about my training again – just to keep myself honest.  I will be gone for 10 days and won’t be blogging during that time, but starting mid June I should return full speed.  Finally.

5/31/07  3.3 miles/29:32/8:42 pace/140 HR

2 Responses to “Running again …”


  1. 1 mark June 1, 2007 at 6:30 am

    good luck in your recovery running, listen to your body, run smart and you’ll be toeing the line in October for the Milwaukee marathon, looking forward to your progress and have a safe trip

  2. 2 Chris June 1, 2007 at 8:00 am

    Thanks for the kind words Mark. I’ve enjoyed watching your progress. Your Boston performance in those conditions was quite something.


Leave a Reply

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

What I am reading:

Again to Carthage, Robert L. Parker

Music I am listening to:

LCD Soundsystem, This Happens Gorillaz, Plastic Beach

