Catching up …

Well, I took my week off, got a massage, did some more massage of my own, and took it easy. I decided to really do the recovery easy and did some walking and jogging at about 9-10 minute pace. I took Monday off, and did a medicinal run on Tuesday, then took Wednesday off and did medicinal runs on Thursday and Friday. I gradually increased the mileage from 3 to 5 miles. But, half of those miles were spent walking because I alternated between walking and running. By the time Friday rolled around I felt like things were feeling better and went for a run outside on Saturday.

I managed to 6.4 miles at an 8:24 pace and things felt pretty good. Then, on Sunday I ran 8.5 miles at an 8:10 pace and again things felt good. Today, I ran 7.4 miles at an 8:05 pace and four of those miles were 7:58, 7:58, 7:50, 7:54. Not that those miles are awesome running, but they are progress in this injury recovery. I must say, though, that I felt a little tightness in the calf the last mile and I slowed down to 8:30 pace. I am concerned that my calf will not hold up to 7:20 pace for an extended period of time. I guess there are still 5 weeks to go so there is more recovery time I can build in. I think this week will be more of the same but I think I will slow it down some. No point in reinjuring the calf and the extra 15 seconds a mile are not going to make that much difference in my conditioning.

I was thinking of running the New Bedford half this weekend; with a 10 mile effort at marathong pace and then see how much I can pick it up for the last three. This may not be a good decision. I will have to see how the rest of this week shapes up.

I think some racing is needed but I don’t have that many options. There is another half marathon on April 1 and maybe I will do that as a MP run. We’ll see how the calf feels this week. I am afraid to run much faster than MP because I am not sure my calf will hold up.

0 Responses to “Catching up …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

What I am reading:

Again to Carthage, Robert L. Parker

Music I am listening to:

LCD Soundsystem, This Happens Gorillaz, Plastic Beach

