A step backward?

I don’t know about the health of my calf. I was going to run on the treadmill Sunday afternoon but things got in the way and the Y closed before I could get the run in; so, I had to do it outside. I jogged at about 9:00 pace for the first mile and felt okay, but not great. After the first mile, I jogged most of the time but did stop a few times to walk because the calf was feeling tight.  I don’t feel like much progress has been made.  My calf feels tight still and I have the sense that if I tried to run any faster than 8:30 pace it would tighten up into a nice little knot and put me out of commission.

So, I’ve decided to take today off and do another medicinal run on Tuesday. I will see how that feels but I am getting a bit worried that more down time is needed. If that is the case then I will be lucky to run any tune up races before the marathon and will be lucky to get in any kind of serious mileage before the marathon. This really sucks. There are only six weeks of training to go to the marathon (and one of those would be a taper week). If I eat up two more weeks of recovery that will leave me with three weeks of training. That doesn’t seem very promising. I will have to hope that the ten weeks previous were enough to get me through this. I am skeptical.

0 Responses to “A step backward?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

What I am reading:

Again to Carthage, Robert L. Parker

Music I am listening to:

LCD Soundsystem, This Happens Gorillaz, Plastic Beach

