The end of this injury downtime is near…

This is the last day of no running, I hope.  The calf is feeling much better, nearly 100% but I won’t know that until I try a “medicinal” run – walk a mile, run 1/4 mile easy, walk a bit, run a bit etc. until the calf feels tired and then stop.  I will see how that feels before I decide on how much to run on Sunday.  I don’t expect any kind of lengthy run on Sunday and the running next week will be easy but gradually an increase in distance.  I will try to get a longer run in on March 11 and then the next weekend I will do one of two things:

1.  Saturday long run (16-18 miles), Sunday New Bedford Half.  The object here will be to try to simulate being tired for the end of the marathon; or,

2. Saturday run Holyoke, MA 10k and then Sunday 16-18 miles.

I have not decided which one I will take.  I guess it will depend on how I feel during these next two weeks, if my calf holds up, and if I feel like I need the quick jaunt of the 10k or the longer race of the half.  If I run the half, I plan on doing MP for the first 8 or 9 and then pick it up to 15k pace the last 4 or 5.

I am looking forward to getting back at it.  Not running for a week (and in essence really for two weeks) has been difficult and has me on the edge – I need to run.  I guess that’s a good thing.

0 Responses to “The end of this injury downtime is near…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

What I am reading:

Again to Carthage, Robert L. Parker

Music I am listening to:

LCD Soundsystem, This Happens Gorillaz, Plastic Beach

