Four days of no running and counting …

I haven’t run a step in four days.  Damn, that sucks.

I used my gift certificae this morning and got a sports message – focus was just on my legs, especially the injured calf.  I feel better but it is still sore and tight.   Getting better but not nearly healed yet.

I ran across this thread at lestrun.com about calf tightness (it’s the post about halfway down from “calved up once” where he posts an article from Running Times).  This post nailed what I have right on the head.  From the looks of it, this might be a slightly longer recovery than I anticipated.  I guess its a good thing this happened now and not three weeks before Boston.  I may still have time to set it right and get back into some decent training.  We’ll see.  I just have to remember its not about this year but the next ten.  With that in mind, it is time to get this injury fixed.  I hope to find this thing called “The Stick” that is a self-massage tool for the calves.

I plan on taking Wedensday, Thursday and Friday off and see if I can do this “medicinal run” talked about in that post on Saturday.  If so, then I will ease back into over the next week and hopefully be back to running solid miles again by March 10.   That will leave me with 5 weeks to Boston.   Not lots of time, but enough, I hope.

0 Responses to “Four days of no running and counting …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

What I am reading:

Again to Carthage, Robert L. Parker

Music I am listening to:

LCD Soundsystem, This Happens Gorillaz, Plastic Beach

