Treadmill workout

I did not get to my run until the end of the day. It was cold and I didn’t feel like running outside in the dark so I went to the Y and did this run on the treadmill. I started out thinking I would just do 12 at a moderate pace on the treadmill. The first two miles were at 8:05 pace and I felt great. Like an idiot I decided I’d try to do the seven mile pickup that was scheduled during this run. This pickup was meant to be at half marathon or 15 k pace. I started out and ran the first three miles at 6:53 pace (1% grade) and then for the fourth mile I dropped it down to 6:47 pace. I felt strong and good but at the 4.5 mile point of the pickup my calf suddenly tightened up on me and I had to stop.

That was stupid. I should have just taken it easy and kept healing the calf. No, I had to be an idiot – sometimes I don’t think I will ever learn my lessons.

It does not feel as bad as it did this time last week but it is a setback. I will see how my run goes this afternoon. I will do it on the treadmill again so that I can control the surface and the pace. Today is supposed to be a six mile recovery but I will try to do more, probably around 10 or 11 if my calf can handle it. Sunday is a planned 22 miler. I hope I can do that, those long runs are important.

Apart from running we saw a great movie last night. I ordered Little Manhattan from Netflix. It is about a fifth grade boy and his first love. It really brought back memories of what that felt like. I highly recommend it.

2/23/07 6.5 miles/48:38/7:28 pace/163 HR

1 Response to “Treadmill workout”


  1. 1 Our Home Page August 28, 2014 at 10:47 am

    Eye-catching part of content Workout Training Programs. I recently came across your site plus accession cash to say that we acquire basically cherished accounts ones blog site blogposts. Anyway I will be signing up for ones add to or perhaps I personally achievement you have permission to access routinely easily.


Leave a Reply

February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

What I am reading:

Again to Carthage, Robert L. Parker

Music I am listening to:

LCD Soundsystem, This Happens Gorillaz, Plastic Beach

