The dangers of ice …

Yesterday was an 8 mile recovery run – but I only ended up running 7 miles.

The run was real slow and I had to cut it short due to some calf tightness. The whole run was on ice – it made for some treacherous running and some mighty slow running at that. I could not run fast enough to get my HR over 131 and the pace was right at 9:00 per mile.

At about mile 6 miles my left calf tightened up and I was concerned about finishing without doing some damage to my calf. I think running on the ice changed my gait or something like that and led to this injury/tightness; it felt like a knot was developing in my calf. I stopped at mile 7 and walked home. It remained tighter during the day but feels a little better this morning. I was going to run a 10 mile race today but decided that racing was not as important as my overall health without an injury. I took the long term view – unusual for me but a good sign I think. Instead of running today I will switch my off days and run 15 tomorrow. I want to give the calf a chance to rest and overcome this tightness. No need getting injured after all this work – only 7 weeks to go until Boston.

2/17/07 7.0 miles/1:04:00/9:02 pace/HR 126

0 Responses to “The dangers of ice …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

What I am reading:

Again to Carthage, Robert L. Parker

Music I am listening to:

LCD Soundsystem, This Happens Gorillaz, Plastic Beach

