More info on harder running is needed …

This topic continues to gnaw at me.  I think I have been too lazy with the pace of some of my runs.  I need to run harder for longer distances.  I feel like Sunday was a step in that direction.  It wasn’t as hard as it needs to be but I am convinced I need to do more of my training (on hard days) near marathon goal pace. The training program for this week actually calls for 15 on Sunday but with 12 at marathon goal pace. That should start putting me in position to run faster.

This article by Kevin Beck, written in 1999 I believe, sets forth what I am starting to believe is true.  I just don’t know how I get there as a 43 year old.  I probably need to build a much better base than the one year I’ve managed since I seriously got back into training.

There are two runs scheduled for today. Both are recovery runs. The morning run was 6 miles at recovery pace. It was easy and controlled. I feel pretty well recovered from my Sunday run and look forward to a solid week with a good hard effort on Sunday.

2/6/07 AM 6.2 miles/51:45/8:22 pace/136 HR

0 Responses to “More info on harder running is needed …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

What I am reading:

Again to Carthage, Robert L. Parker

Music I am listening to:

LCD Soundsystem, This Happens Gorillaz, Plastic Beach

