Today, I played the role of …

slow old man.

Two runs are scheduled for today; both are labeled “recovery” runs. The first one, I took to heart. Six miles in 53:37. That’s a smokin’ 8:53 pace at a 134 HR. Recovery runs are meant to be slow right? Right? If I say it enough I will convince myself. I have read enough to know that many of the “experts” say that we run our hard runs too hard and our slow runs not slow enough. So, I can’t believe this recovery run was too fast. My question is, is it too slow? I don’t know. I will let you know how slow the pm run turns out – all 1 or 2 of you (and sometimes the zero of you – if a blog posts and nobody hears it does it exist?).

* * *

On to something different –

Duncan Larkin over at Roads, Mills, Laps has been showing his artistic side lately. Today’s piece is nice, but it’s his diatribe after that really sparkles. Go check it out as I sit here, not in Walter Reed Hospital or never having been there. But, I think his point is a good one – I wonder if any of my representatives or senators, who voted for the war visited Walter Reed. Most likely not.

On the same war vein, I was listening to an NPR podcast this morning called Rough Cuts with Michel Martin. The episode I caught was entitled “Powerful Voices.” I wanted to briefly mention an interview Ms. Martin had with an Iraqi woman – Mishkat Al Moumin. Ms. Al Moumin made two comments that stuck with me and made me wonder if our leaders think of how to deal with the Iraq “problem” as its now being called.*

The two comments were this:

  1. When the power goes out in Iraq it has a cultural ripple effect. Since it is warm in this desert area (not a big surprise, eh?), the air conditioners don’t run because people don’t have back up generators. So, instead of staying in their homes watching tv, reading, or playing with the computer, Iraqui’s go to the nearest mosque because they have backup generators and air conditioning. The price for this air conditioning, she said, was that they have to listen to the jihadist preachings at the mosque. So, for the lack of electricity, there is indoctrination. Can’t we just get the electricty to work?
  2. She noted that a general or some other commander type of a unit undertook a study to figure out where his men were being attacked the most. His information told him this – where there is no trash pick up. Her take on this was that it was easy to hide roadside bombs, or whatever it is that is used to blow up the american boys, in piles of trash. How can you tell if a pile of trash contains a bomb. So, one immediate thing (and I don’t know how simple this would be) to do, apart from also giving our boys the proper equipment they have lacked, is to pick up the trash.

These were two comments that made me think. I’ve never heard this kind of analysis of how to deal with the issues over in Iraq. Does the president hear this kind of stuff? I doubt it.

Anyway, you should check out Duncan’s site and the npr podcast Rough Cuts.

1/29/07 Off

1/30/07 6.0 miles/53:37/8:53 pace/134 HR

* Isn’t it really a joke that Iraq is a problem (that’s how the president described it on 1/10/07 in this link, and I quote “Our enemies throughout the Middle East are trying to defeat us in Iraq. If we step back now, the problems in Iraq will become more lethal, and make our troops fight an uglier battle than we are seeing today.”)?

It’s not a problem. It’s a fiasco, a complete mess, a horrible decision supported by our president, his adminstration, most of our representatives and senators, and most of the country at the outset. It was based on lies. It has killed thousands of our young boys and girls. It makes me mad when I see the pictures of dead people (both Americans and Iraqis) on the front page of the NY Times. It’s not a problem and to call it such minimizes what has happened. End of rant.

0 Responses to “Today, I played the role of …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

January 2007
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

What I am reading:

Again to Carthage, Robert L. Parker

Music I am listening to:

LCD Soundsystem, This Happens Gorillaz, Plastic Beach

