Treadmill …

For the first time in about a year, I ran on a treadmill this morning for my 5 mile recovery run.  It wasn’t cold, but it was boring.  Additionally, when you run on a treadmill you can get stuck beside some guy who really stinks and makes the running experience less than optimal.  While I might use the treadmill again, I will make sure I choose a treadmill that is set off from other ones and bring my ipod.

I wonder, also, if the treadmill is easier on your legs and knees.  It didn’t feel that way but I admit it was nice to run in shorts and a short sleeve shirt.  Overall, it was an average experience.  Tomorrow is an 11 mile run.  This recovery week is going well and even though I am doing runs over 10 miles it does feel easier and like a recovery week.  I hope I am getting faster because during the weeks leading up to the Cape Cod marathon I rarely ran over 10 miles and only did long runs on Sundays.  These 14 and 15 milers during the week are time consuming but I feel as if those few extra miles tacked onto my mid-week runs are making me stronger and conditioning me in a way that I was not on October 2006.  I hope that is the case.

After this week, the mileage and effort seem to pick up in a noticeable way.  Mileage will peak at 70 with all weeks over 65.  This is going to be a tough stretch.

1/18/07  5 miles/42:30/8:30 pace/132 HR

0 Responses to “Treadmill …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

January 2007
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

What I am reading:

Again to Carthage, Robert L. Parker

Music I am listening to:

LCD Soundsystem, This Happens Gorillaz, Plastic Beach

