Running by effort

My Garmin Forerunner 305 ran out of battery just short of a mile into my run, so for the first time in a while I had to run by feel. I probably ended up running too fast but it felt moderate – like there was a lot more in the tank.  I felt good and in control, actually passing a few people along the way. 

Work has been busy of late and I am feeling some stress over some pending filings.  I don’t know how that will effect my running.  Increased heart rate?  Leg fatigue?  Mental fatigue?  What kind of effects does stress have on people?

I recall a time in law school when I was still running a little.  I had just completed my final exam after two weeks of really intense studying.  I figured I was all done so I went for what I planned would be a six or seven mile run.  No way – about two miles into the run my body completely shut down and I had to walk home.  Even walking I almost didn’t make it back to my apartment.  It was quite a run and I have kept that in my memory ever since.  Your body can put off a lot but eventually, it will tell you “No mas.”  I hope to never experience that again because it was really frightening.

Tomorrow is a recovery 5 mile run and then Sunday is a 17 miler.  I will need to get up early to get my runs in, what with all the holiday obligations cropping up.

12/22  9.0 miles/1:08:00 (approximation on time and mileage due to no HRM or watch)

powered by performancing firefox

0 Responses to “Running by effort”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

December 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

What I am reading:

Again to Carthage, Robert L. Parker

Music I am listening to:

LCD Soundsystem, This Happens Gorillaz, Plastic Beach

