The sudden arrival of winter …

was shocking this morning; and, I couldn’t find my high tech pullover so I was forced to revert to days of old – a long sleeve race shirt from the Leaf Peeper’s Half Marathon and an old, paint splattered Nike sweatshirt.  Surprisingly, it worked.   Gee, this is how I used to run back in college before super micro fiber tech smell absorbing fabric was invented.   In all that time, the essence of running hasn’t changed much – just the attire has.

I have decided that I am a vampire runner.  My 5 AM departure time means that the sun has not risen by the time I get back.  My entire run is done in the dark.  It is weird to think about.  For some reason, this dark and wintry morning got me thinking of poetry – I don’t know why, perhaps the darkness of a cold, windy morning run imparts a mood that befits poetry.  With that in mind, here is an excerpt from a winter poem that fits my mood:

Blow, blow, thou winter wind
Thou art not so unkind
As man’s ingratitude;
Thy tooth is not so keen,
Because thou art not seen,
Although thy breath be rude.

From Blow, Blow, Thou Winter Wind by William Shakespeare.

I don’t know why I am focused on man’s ingratitude today, but I am.  Perhaps it is the nature of my work; perhaps the nature of human interaction in general these days (or my own sorry excuse for interaction with others); perhaps my own ingratitude.   Whatever it is, I told myself I was going to look at life through a more optimistic lens.  I did that with my running but I have fallen short of that outside of my running.  That will be my focus and new year’s resolution – whatever those are worth.

Back to running.

Cold run today.  I felt pretty good this morning but that was not the case yesterday morning.   Yesterday I felt sluggish and slow at the start of my five mile recovery run.  By the end, after running very slow (8:45-9:15 pace) I felt much better.   Then, this morning, all of that bad juice in my body was gone and I was able to run harder without much effort; effort was required today because the wind was in my face for the first half of the run, but the effort was not a strenuous, oh-I-don’t-want-to-be-here effort.  It was a solid, I can do this effort.  If that makes any sense.

I kept the heartrate at 148-155 and managed paces from 7:46-8:08 for 9 miles.  This may not seem fast but there was a strong wind and I did feel very controlled the whole time.  It felt like a moderate effort and that is what was called for today.  Overall, I feel pretty good and I am pleased that the recovery did exactly that – allowed me to recover.

Tomorrow is another recovery run and then a long 15 mile jaunt awaits on Sunday.

Thursday – Recovery run 5.4 miles/46:25

Friday – General Aerobic 9.2 miles/1:13:28

0 Responses to “The sudden arrival of winter …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

December 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

What I am reading:

Again to Carthage, Robert L. Parker

Music I am listening to:

LCD Soundsystem, This Happens Gorillaz, Plastic Beach

